





OUR VISION: OUTSTANDING CARE - NO EXCEPTIONS!

OUR MISSION: DELIVER AN OUTSTANDING CARE EXPERIENCE DRIVEN BY A PASSIONATE COMMITMENT TO EXCELLENCE

To: The Hon. Eric Hoskins

Minister of Health and Long-Term Care

CC: Drew Dilkens, Mayor, City of Windsor

Tom Bain, Warden, County of Essex

Taras Natyshak, MPP, Essex

Percy Hatfield, MPP Windsor-Tecumseh

Lisa Gretzky, MPP Windsor West

Martin Girash, Chair, Erie St. Clair LHIN

Gary Switzer, President and CEO, Erie St. Clair LHIN

David Musyj, President and CEO, Windsor Regional Hospital

Janice Kaffer, President and CEO, Hotel-Dieu Grace Healthcare

From: Windsor Regional Hospital, Medical Advisory Committee

Friday, February 5, 2016

Dear Minister Hoskins,

In early 2013, your predecessor, the Hon. Deb Matthews, approved an initial planning grant for the hospitals serving Windsor and Essex County to begin the process of developing a bold new vision for hospital care in our region.

This was on the heels of a Task Force Report ("Report") authored by then MPP, Theresa Piruzza, former MPP, Dave Cooke and Tom Porter. The Report concluded, after extensive community engagement, that there is a "strong level of endorsement and enthusiasm in the Windsor Essex region for the development of a new single site acute care hospital" and requested that the government proceed immediately with the planning and construction.

Over the past three years a lot of preliminary planning has been undertaken to make this vision a reality. We are now at an important part of the planning process to move this to Stage 2 of the Ministry of Health and Long Term Care's capital planning process.

In last two months our local City of Windsor and Essex County political leaders not only confirmed in principle the local financial share of the project, as much as \$200M, but also a couple weeks ago our Local MPPs, Mayor and Warden, stood together, with a united voice saying #WEareready. This was followed up by a similar loud endorsement by the Erie St Clair LHIN.

As members of the Medical Advisory Committee of Windsor Regional Hospital we want to make sure you hear our collective and unified voice as well.

Most of our existing hospital infrastructure is decades old. Needed investments in the past 10 years have helped bridge this gap, but our facilities have not kept pace with modern and new capabilities seen in Ontario hospitals that have been granted new construction investments over the past decade.

Our community deserves nothing less.

We continue to address the operating budget issues being faced locally and provincially. However, our community should not also be prejudiced by having other regions across the Province receive substantial infrastructure investments supported, in part, by residents of Windsor-Essex while going without locally. As stated in the Task Force report "the development of a new acute care hospital is viewed as an opportunity to reconsider and effectively reorganize the delivery of the entire continuum of health care services in our region". The Stage 1 plan as submitted, does just that for our community and region.

We're ready to move to the next stage of this important process.

We look forward to working together to see this vision become reality. Please help us get to Stage 2 of the planning process now.

Sincerely,

Dr. Gary Ing Chief of Staff

Dr.: Winston Ramsewak,

Chief, Dept. of Diagnostic Imaging

Dr. Lenna Morgan,

Chief, Dept. of Paediatrics

Dr. Don Levy

Chief, Dept. of Emergency Medicine

Dr. Dante Morassutti,

Chief, Dept. of Neurosciences

Dr. Richard Stapleford,

RS. Sty word

Chief, Dept. of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery &

Dentistry

Dr. Joshua Polsky

Chief, Dept. of Obstetrics & Gynecology

Dr. David Shum,

Chief, Dept. of Laboratory Medicine

Dr. Marguerite Chevalier, Dept. of Family Medicine

Dr. Wassim Saad, Chief, Dept. of Medicine

Dr. Sowmil Mehta,

President, Professional Staff

Dr. Minesh Singh,

Vice President, Professional Staff (Ouellette Campus)

Dr. Kenneth Schneider, Chief, Dept. of Oncology

Dr. Rajeskar Basker, Chief, Dept. of Psychiatry

Dr. Americo Liolli, Dept. of Anaesthesia

Dr. Takeshi Takahashi, Chief, Dept. of Surgery

Vice-President, Professional Staff (Metropolitan

Campus)

Dr. Abdelrahman Elashaal, Secretary/Treasurer,

Professional Staff